• New Delhi. 02 March 2024. President of India, Smt Droupadi Murmu, who is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces, will be awarding the President’s Standard and Colours to four Indian Air Force Units at Air Force Station Hindan on 08 Mar 2024. This will be the first time in history of Indian Air Force that four units will be awarded President’s Standard & Colours together.

A curtain raiser press conference was held at New Delhi today towards the President’s Standard and Colours Presentation ceremony. Air Marshal PM Sinha, AOC-in-C Western Air Command along with the commanders of the four recipient units addressed the media on the occasion.

The award of the President’s Standard and Colours is the highest military honour for any Armed Forces Unit. The selected Units are recognised for the meritorious services rendered by them during the past 25 years. The award is an acknowledgement of the operational excellence, dedication and proven contribution of these Units both during peace and war.

The Hon’ble President of India, Smt. Droupadi Murmu, will be awarding the President’s Standard to 45 Squadron and 221 Squadron and the President’s Colours to 11 Base Repair Depot and 509 Signal Unit. The President’s Standard will be received by Group Captain M Surendran, Commanding Officer of 45 Squadron and Group Captain Shubhankan, Commanding Officer of 221 Squadron. The President’s Colours will be received by Air Commodore Ashutosh Vaidya, Air Officer Commanding of 11 Base Repair Depot and Group Captain Vivek Sharma Commanding Officer of 509 Signal Unit.