• Passengers can fly paperless with Akasa Air through the ‘DigiYatra’ service ensuring a seamless travel experience

New Delhi. 20 February 2024. Akasa Air, India’s fastest-growing airline, confirmed the adoption of Digi Yatra’s facial recognition system across nine major airports of the country including Bengaluru, New Delhi, Varanasi, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Guwahati, Kolkata, and Pune. Adoption of DigiYatra reflects Akasa Air’s ongoing commitment to innovation and providing an unparalleled travel experience for its passengers.

The DigiYatra service, a fully biometric-based self-boarding solution, ensures a hassle-free travel experience for passengers. Before entering the terminal, travelers can conveniently register their ID and biometric data, along with their flight details, on the user-friendly DigiYatra app. As they navigate through the airport, state-of-the-art biometric technology authenticates and verifies passengers’ identities, offering the highest levels of safety and security.

DigiYatra is available for Akasa Air customers on the following airports
1. Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru
2. Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi
3. Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport, Varanasi
4. Rajiv Gandhi International Airport, Hyderabad
5. Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport, Lucknow
6. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport, Ahmedabad
7. Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport, Guwahati
8. Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata
9. Pune International Airport, Pune

To enrol for DigiYatra, passenger needs to follow below steps:

  • Download the DigiYatra App available on Android and Apple store, using your Aadhaar linked mobile number
  • Link your Aadhaar using Digi Locker. In case you are not registered with Digi Locker, please register using your Aadhaar number. Ensure that your Aadhaar name is same as your flight ticket
  • Click a selfie with good clarity, validate with your Aadhaar and save credentials
  • Add your boarding pass24 hours prior to the Digi Yatra App before your flight and receive confirmation

Since its launch in August 2022, Akasa Air has served over 7.75 million passengers and connects with 21 cities, namely Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Delhi, Guwahati, Agartala, Pune, Lucknow, Goa, Hyderabad, Varanasi, Bagdogra, Bhubaneswar, Kolkata, Port Blair, Ayodhya, Gwalior, Srinagar, and Doha (Qatar). Bookings for flights and various customer-friendly add-on services can be made on www.akasaair.com, Android & IOS app, travel agents, and several OTAs across the country.