New Delhi. 16 September 2023. Col Gulshan Mehta, Indian Army, Simulator Development Division, Secunderabad, Telangana has been bestowed with the prestigious IETE- Shri Devi Singh Tyagi Memorial Award for the year 2023. The award consists of a citation, a medal and a plaque.  The award was given today on the occasion of the 66th IETE (Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers) Annual Convention held  at Pune.

Instituted by Dr R K Tyagi, former Chairman of HAL in memory of his late father Shri Devi Singh Tyagi, in 2016, the award is presented to a technocrat or a scientist or an engineer or an academician for outstanding contribution in the field of avionics and defence electronics that results in strategic and commercial advantage towards meeting the national campaign of `Make in India’.

Col Gulshan Mehta has been  conferred with this award in recognition of his extensive technical knowledge which led to the  creation of systems and algorithms within the organization, increasing situational awareness and aiding army training and operations on the ground while also supporting the ‘Make in India’ drive.

A photograph of Col Gulshan Mehta receiving the Award  is  also attached.

The previous recipient of the awards were Ms T S Padma Priya, HAL(2016), Dr Jayakumar M, ISRO, (2017), Mr Amit Tiwari, BEL(2018), Mr P Balasubramanian, DRDO (2019) and Shri Ajay Khare, HAL(2020). Prof.J  Ramkumar, IIT Kanpur & Shri Prikshat Sharma, DGM(LCA) HAL – Joint winners(2021)/Shri Kishore Dutt Atluri, President, Zen Technologies Ltd, Hyderabad(2022)