New Delhi. 01 September 2023. ‘DSC A 20’ (Yard 325), the first ship of Five (05) Diving Support Craft (DSC) project being built by M/s Titagarh Rail Systems Ltd (TRSL), Kolkata (formerly known as M/s Titagarh Wagons Ltd (TWL)) for Indian Navy, was launched on 31 Aug 23 at Titagarh, Kolkata (WB) onto Hooghly River. The Launch Ceremony was presided over by VAdm Sanjay Mahindru, Deputy Chief of Naval Staff (DCNS). In keeping with Naval tradition, Mrs Aradhana Mahindru launched the ship with invocation from Atharva Veda.

Contract for building five (05) Diving Support Craft (DSC) was signed between MoD and M/s Titagarh Wagons Ltd (TWL), Kolkata on 12 Feb 21. These ships are designed to undertake operational/ training diving operations in harbours and coastal waters. They are 30 m long catamaran hull ships, with a displacement of approx 300 tons. All five (05) DSC are anticipated to be delivered to Indian Navy in FY 2024-25.

DSC are being fitted with state of the art diving equipment and tools for performing diving operations. These ships are indigenously designed and built under relevant Naval Rules and Regulation of Indian Register of Shipping (IRS). The hydrodynamic analysis/ model testing of the ships during design stage were undertaken at Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakhapatnam. With most of main and auxiliary equipment sourced from indigenous manufacturers, these ships are proud flag bearers of Make in India and Make for the World initiatives of Government of India (GoI)/ Ministry of the Defence (MoD).

Keel of the 5th and last Diving Support Craft (DSC), i.e. DSC A 24, was also laid along with launch of 1st DSC by the Chief Guest, VAdm Sanjay Mahindru, DCNS, signifying the simultaneous construction of all five DSC for Indian Navy.