New Delhi. 21 December 2017. Sainik School is being set up in Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Land for establishing Sainik School at Diglipur, North Andaman has been identified by the Andaman and Nicobar Island Administration. Inspection of the site has been carried out by the officials of Ministry of Defence. Andaman and Nicobar Administration has been asked to obtain Environment / Forest clearance of the site identified.

This information was given by MOS(Defence) Dr. Subhash . The Sainik Schools are a system of schools in India established and managed by the Sainik Schools Society under Ministry of Defence. They were conceived in 1961 by V. K. Krishna Menon, the then Defence Minister of India, to rectify the regional and class imbalance amongst the Officer cadre of the Indian Military, and to prepare students for entry into the National Defence Academy (NDA), Khadakwasla, Pune and Indian Naval Academy. Today there are 26 such schools covering all the states of the country.

The entire capital expenditure on land and buildings is met by the respective State Govts who are also required to provide funds for maintenance of infrastructure and for new infrastructural projects. The State Govts also award scholarships on merit cum means basis.These are fully residential schools run on public school lines. The schools provide all facilities for overall personality development. NCC is compulsory upto class-XII. They offer a common CBSE curriculum and the medium of instruction is English, though English is not a pre-requisite for admission.

Most Sainik Schools are designed for 525 cadets spread over from class-VI to XII. However strength of the school can vary keeping in view available capacity and after taking permission of the Hony Secy. These are financially self sustaining institutions and all expenditure on establishment, training and pension are met out of fee collected from the students.

All schools have three service officers Principal, Vice Principal and Administrative Officers. Principals are of the rank of Col, Vice Principals are of the rank of Lt Col and Administrative Officers are Major. These may be of equivalent rank from the three services.