New Delhi. 04 May, 2016. In all nuclear power plants, safety is accorded utmost priority in all phases of siting, design, construction, commissioning and operation. A systematic approach using well-defined principles is followed in the design of the nuclear power plants to provide the required safety features adopting principles of defence-in-depth, diversity and redundancy. Nuclear Power Plants are constructed in accordance with the design intent and with strict quality standards. The operations are performed strictly in accordance with laid out procedures by highly trained and licensed personnel. There is a robust regulatory mechanism in place and periodic safety reviews are carried out both by NPCIL and the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB).

As far as security is concerned, nuclear installations are provided with multilayer security arrangements and are under security cover of the Central Industrial Security Force and other security agencies in the country with additional manpower and equipment, whenever necessary. Integrated security systems including Perimeter Intrusion Detection System (PIDS) and other electronic surveillance systems are in place at all nuclear power plants in the country. These security arrangements are reviewed and updated periodically based on various inputs received from Central and State Agencies.

All the safety and other plant parameters are monitored in the control room of nuclear power plants continuously. The parameters are also physically monitored at respective locations. The safety functions can be performed from supplementary control room in the unlikely event of the control room not being accessible in case of an emergency.

The various safety features are periodically tested as per laid down procedures and in line with technical specifications. Periodic safety reviews are also conducted by the regulatory authority, AERB.

Adequate funds have been allocated for installation, upgradation and maintenance of various surveillance equipment and other security measures at all the nuclear power plant sites.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh.