New Delhi. September. The Government recently decided to declare NSCN(K) as an unlawful organisation for a period of 5 years, under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention), Act 1967. The decision was taken considering the continued hostility and violence on the part of the NSCN(K) against the Indian security personnel, from their bases in Myanmar.National Socialist Council of Nagaland - NSCN
The Government of India has signed ceasefire on 27th April, 2015 with the newly formed NSCN/Reformation under Wangtin Naga, and a framework agreement with NSCN(IM) on 3rd August, 2015. However, the Khaplang group have since carried out a series of violent attacks on the Indian Arm forces from their bases in Myanmar.
These violent activities include indiscriminate firing by NSCN(K) cadres on security forces personnel on 26th March, 2015, explosion of a bomb in PWD colony under the Wokha Town Police Station, District Wokha, two IED explosions on 15-16th April, 2015 at Lerie Colony, near CRPF Camp on NH 29 in District Kohima, ambush of a party of security force personnel at village Changlang Shu, under Tobu police station of District Mon, killing 8 security forces personnel and ambush of security force personnel on 4th June, 2015, killing 18 personnel, in District Chandel in Manipur.
The National Socialist Council of Nagaland (NSCN) split into two groups in 1988 – NSCN(IM) led by Isak Swu and Th. Muivah and NSCN(K) led by S.S. Khaplang, a Naga from Myanmar. The Government of India signed a ceasefire agreement with NSCN(IM) with effect from 1st August, 1997, and a process of political dialogue with NSCN(IM) was initiated to work out a mutually acceptable solution. In April 2001, the Government of India entered into Cease Fire Agreement with SS Khaplang led NSCN(K).
However, NSCN(K) headed, by a Myanmar citizen S.S. Khaplang, unilaterally abrogated the ceasefire agreement on 27th March, 2015 and intensified its violent activities. As a result, a substantial portion of the NSCN(K) broke away from the organisation